Become a Neo Ambassador in 2022

The Neo Ambassadors are a volunteer committee of young people aged 13 to 17, who are vital to the development and presentation of AGSA's flagship program for teens, Neo. The Ambassadors are recruited annually from around South Australia, with each member being involved in layers of the program, from idea generation, to being hands on in the delivering of exciting and inclusive events for their peers at AGSA.


Applications are now open for the 2022 Neo Ambassador Committee.

Apply here.

Applications will close on Monday 1 November 2021.


Neo is a free event exclusively for young people aged 13-17 years. Presented 6 times a year, Neo is a festival-style event curated in response to AGSA’s latest exhibitions, featuring live music, performance, artist-led workshops and social activities.

Neo is presented by The Balnaves Foundation. Since 2016, Neo has welcomed over 6000 teens to the Art Gallery of South Australia.

What's involved in being an Ambassador?

  • Meet every 3 to 4 weeks to develop the Neo program
  • Participate in 2 days of professional development across the January and July School Holidays
  • Attend and contribute to up to six Neo events a year
  • Participate in optional opportunities and activities throughout the year; including opportunities to run guided tours at Neo and Start events, develop and present workshops at Neo, take part in media interviews, or contribute to Neon, Neo’s youth-led zine that is released 3 times a year

What are the benefits?

  • Professional development opportunities
  • Behind-the-scenes access to the AGSA collection and exhibitions
  • Work alongside Gallery staff, artists and cultural leaders
  • Receive discounts and freebies, including a 10% discount to the Gallery Store and AGF+ W
  • Free entry to all paid exhibitions

How to Join

Applications are now open for 2022.

Please get in touch with if you have any questions.

2021 Neo Ambassadors

Atticus Andriessen, Madeleine Coates, Claudia Coggan, Olivia Daniels, Lizzie Davis, Pearl George, Cleo Kapetas, Ezra Lockwood, Charlotte Lockwood, Perry McDonald, Luis Medrow, Remii Murray, Eamon McEvoy, Abbey Sinclair, Lolli Tran, Angelina Yu

Connect with us

Neo on Instagram

Contact us

For more information, please contact Teen Programs Officer, Bernadette Klavins.

Phone 08 8207 7076

Neo Ambassador Alumni

Layla Ajuria, Josephine Atkins, Calieshaa Milera, Hayden Chan, Jeffrey Chan, Bianca Chu, Claire Chessman, Eleanor Colby, Atefa Heydari, Krystal Icke, Georgia Joy, Iona McDonough, Miriam Sims, Asha Southcombe, Karoline Steiner

Presented by

  • The Balnaves Foundation